circles and lines

september 15 / after work, on my way home

this last month, i’ve been carrying around my digital camera most days. i try to bring it with me everyday but somedays i just don’t feel like it and that’s ok. the overall goal is to capture my everyday life again and to learn my camera better. i’ve tried 3 times to do a 365 and it’s just not my thing. i need time away from the camera to appreciate it. i need to take pleasure in it and to not feel like it’s a requirement. when i was doing a 365, somedays i would resent the project and feel uninspired. i don’t want to resent photography. it’s such a gift to me to view the world through these lovely tools and i want to keep finding the magic in it.

i find if i put a lot of controls or requirements in my life, i get angry at those things. i know if i start to resent something, it isn’t working for me. that’s when it’s time to find a different way to do things. this is something i’ve learned to accept within myself, like an internal barometer. i also know there is always another way to get where i want to go. as i grow and learn, i get better and quicker at finding ways around myself.

canon 50d / 28mm lens

Leave a comment