NYC, initial musings

WORD SALAD

Large. Diverse. Work in progress. So many details. So much everything. Vibrant. More than I can contain with words. Wow. Speechless. Love.

image

OBSERVATIONS

People hang out in the streets. Like pull a chair out and sit on the sidewalk for hours or just stand in a corner or sit on a stoop. Every place outside is a public place.

People are beautiful. They also wear a fair amount of sweat pants. Everybody has an iPhone, in their hand.

Manhatten is twice as expensive to eat and drink in than Brooklyn. Brooklyn feels like Portland but with more brownstones and people of color. I love the diversity here, it’s so refreshing.

Most of the coffee here is from Portland or Seattle. (Starbucks is disgustingly everywhere, ew!)

It feels like there are fewer homeless people here than Portland.

image

RANDOM

I’ve walked more this week than I have in a long time. It’s awesome and harder than I thought it would be. My tiny little legs…getting me 7-10 miles in a day.

I’m learning the subway system. So fun and fascinating!

I still feel like I’m on west coast time and I’ve been here for a week!

I have such a feeling of possibility before me.

image

. all photos taken with iPhone 6+ . first afternoon here . september 25, 2015 . edited using vscocam . #nessayayvacay .

Leave a Reply

