thinking ahead

Hi y’all. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my future, vocationally.

I’ve decided that the thing that makes me the most happy to do is photography. Lately I have been challenging myself to shoot more people because I know that if I am going to be serious about getting into photography as a business that I need to strengthen my portrait photography. However, I have always been drawn to candids. Documentary style photography is much more my forte, no matter the subject–people/landscape/whatever. I would much rather photograph what is happening around me than contrive a story for the camera. Nothing wrong with that, it’s just not my thang.

So who better to practice on than family, right? We had a impromptu BBQ last weekend, due to some also very impromptu gorgeous 75 degree weather. Surprisingly with little notice, my closest family members were all able to make it! Quite a treat. Here’s what I documented that evening:

20130403-194022.jpg

20130403-194040.jpg

20130403-194125.jpg

20130403-194147.jpg

20130403-194200.jpg

20130403-194250.jpg

20130403-194734.jpg

20130403-195002.jpg

20130403-195516.jpg

20130403-195542.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and seeing what I’m up to. I’ve decided that this place doesn’t get enough love so starting today I will post weekly… every Wednesday!

See you next week!
xo, Vanessa

16 thoughts on “thinking ahead”

    1. Seriously! I’m thinking I’ll peruse it on the side as I do boring stuff to pay bills along the way and build the photog business slowly. It’s tough though to figure out how it will support me.

  1. I’m LOVIN’ the post and lovin’ that you’re pursuing what brings you joy. I have a saying painted on my bedroom wall opposite my bed ….”Follow your bliss and the Universe will open doors for you where only there were walls.”

    I can hear those doors opening for you all the way up here in Seattle!

    xx

    1. Caroline! So much love for you, my dear! Thanks for your support! It makes me happy to see you digging your job. You’re an inspiration, my friend. Xo

  2. these are nice. i forget what your digital shooting looks like since you do so much film, but it is great, too! that first one and its dof really gets me. all the detail on the woman’s face (your mom?)…so special.

  3. I hear you, bigtime. I started doing it on the side about five years ago, just a smidge here and there, and slowly, over time, that grew and evolved. And I grew and evolved. What a worthy investment: making time for the things that you are passionate about, the things that fulfill you.

    I love that last b&w!

  4. Beautiful photos! I’ve been thinking the same things a lot recently and have been trying to strengthen my skills. I wish you all the best with your ventures! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

