the best kind of mail

Last week, I got a new camera in the mail. My awesome friend Emily texted me awhile back asking me if I wanted a Polaroid 101 and I immediately responded with a YES!!!

While I knew it was coming, I was so excited when I opened the box it came in. It’s a lovely machine, in amazing condition, with the original instruction manual. I immediately posted this photo on instagram cause I just had to share my excitement.

And I started to take it apart to see what I needed to do to get it working and how to work it (the manual was a big help). I quickly learned I needed a new battery, which the internet claimed difficult to find. So I put a call out to my photo friends and found out that I could get the battery at almost any photo store in town (whew!) or I could get it modified to take 3 AA’s (also locally). I love my photo friends, they’re all so helpful. So off I went to get supplies… and here are my best shots from my first pack of film through the camera.

I started shooting almost immediately after leaving Pro Photo Supply. Seriously, folks, I could barely contain myself and I was excited to see what this baby could do!

This last one I took in the afternoon the following day. It turned out nothing like I was hoping for but I still like it. I have to learn the limits of this new tool and this is how you do it.

What I did learn from this pack of film is that it’s a great camera and it’s in amazing shape. The colors in the film are so vibrant, the focus is lovely. I can’t wait to put another pack through it.

A huge thank you to my dear friend Emily. This is one of the best gifts I have ever received.

+++

I’m nessavay on instagram if you would like to following me there.

10 thoughts on “the best kind of mail”

  1. Oooh! The second shot is totally my fave — looks like it was taken in some enchanted orchard, something about that light! What a great friend to give you such a fine camera!

Leave a Reply

