september seventh

Hi friends,

It’s been nice to take a break from posting here daily but I kinda miss it too. I had a pretty epic holiday weekend and am having a hard time getting back into the swing of things.

Do you enjoy poetry? I love how a really good poem can make me stop and think. Mary Oliver’s poems do that for me. This is one of my favorites.

The Summer Day

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
With your one wild and precious life?
{ Mary Oliver }

What’s your favorite poem? I hope you will share it with me.

I hope you are having a lovely week.

 
Crawfordsville, Oregon | September 5, 2011
Polaroid Colorpack II | FP100-C

2 thoughts on “september seventh”

  1. such a dreamy photo. magic.

    i could never pick a fave poem. probably something written by my future husband. i am a huge fan of gluck, levertov, rumi, adrienne rich, hafiz, and rilke. we are poets in this house. and there are some by oliver that stay with me, always. i have one that is a favorite of hers but am certain it would take too long to type it out here :) here’s a rilke that is close to my heart:

    I would describe myself
    like a landscape I’ve studied
    at length, in detail;
    like a word I’m coming to understand;
    like a pitcher I pour from at mealtime;
    like my mother’s face;
    like a ship that carried me
    when the waters raged.

    ~rainer maria rilke~

    1. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this with me. I am a bit of a novice regarding poetry but I love it and want more of it in my life. I think I may do one post like this a week for a while here on the blog. Why not, right?

Leave a Reply

